KINGSTON, Ont. - Thomas Code (Dorchester, Ont.) of Fanshawe shot an impressive opening round 65 to take a three-stroke lead into the clubhouse in the opening round of the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association Golf Championships.

Code played bogey-free golf throughout the day, including an eagle on the Par 5 sixteenth hole. He also had three birdies to finish five-under par.

Code leads hometown favourite Jamaal Moussaoui (Kingston, Ont.) of St. Lawrence and 2017 champion Conner Watt (Toronto) of Humber, who were the only other golfers to break 70 on Day 1. Both shot two-under 68. Caelan Booth of Fleming is in fourth place shooting an even-par 70.

In the women's competition, there is a two-way tie for the lead as Devyn Fraser (Uxbridge, Ont.) of Durham and Hayley McCallum (Mississauga, Ont.) of Humber both shot 81. They don't have a lot of wiggle room with Shannon Coffey (Windsor, Ont.) of St. Clair just one shot back, and Elaine Surjoprajogo (Brampton, Ont.) of Humber and Rachael Rier (Hanover, Ont.) of Georgian trailing by two strokes.

Humber leads the team title chases after 18 holes. The men lead St. Lawrence by three strokes, while the women have an 11 shot advantage over the Georigan duo of Rier and Kristen Butterfield (Brantford, Ont.).

The middle round of the scheduled 54-hole tournament takes place Tuesday at the Cataraqui Golf and Country Club in Kingston, Ont. Nearly 70 golfers are representing 11 Ontario college campuses, including Confederation, Durham, Fanshawe, Fleming, Georgian, Humber, Lakehead (Orillia), Mohawk, Niagara, St. Clair and St. Lawrence.

The tournament consists of three 18-hole rounds, weather permitting. The male and female player posting the lowest gross score through 54 holes will earn their respective individual championship.

Men's teams consist of four or five golfers, with the top four individual scores of each round contributing to the total team score. Women's teams consist of two or three golfers, with the top two individual scores of each round contributing to their total score. Schools with the lowest aggregate of gross scores after 54 holes win the respective team titles. Humber is the two-time reigning OCAA men's team champion, while Fanshawe won the 2018 women's team title.

The Cataraqui Golf and Country Club course was designed by noted Canadian architect Stanley Thompson and has retained the classic golf course design and features that he is renowned for. The course features classic Thompson bunkers with their sweeping capes and flashes of sand, towering white pines, rolling fairways and small subtly breaking greens that will challenge shot making skills.

The golf course has hosted many outstanding professional and amateur events. Events have included the Ontario Open, Ontario Ladies Amateur, Canadian PGA Senior Championships, the 2017 Canadian Junior Boys Golf Championship and annually plays host to the Women's Eastern Provinces Championship and the Men's 36 Hole Whig Standard Championship.

Daily results at the championships will be available online via the championship website and

The top OCAA golfers and teams will move on to compete at the 2019 Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Golf National Championships presented by PING. The event takes place at the Continental Golf Club in Sorel-Tracy, Que., from Oct. 15-18.

Championship Website:

Cataraqui Golf and Country Club:

Results via Golf Ontario:

- OCAA -


The Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) is the recognized leader in intercollegiate athletics in the province, dedicated to student-athlete and sport development. The OCAA has 27 members sponsoring 12 varsity sports.

For additional information please contact:
Josh Bell-Webster
Marketing and Communications
Ontario Colleges Athletic Association
Tel: 416-426-7041